Off Panel #136: Past, Present and Future with James Lucas Jones

The newly minted publisher of Oni Press, James Lucas Jones, joins the podcast to discuss 20 years of the publisher. Jones discusses his path to becoming publisher, Oni’s evolution, the development of the comic industry, how competition has changed their approach, recent position changes at Oni, the power of libraries, why Oni moved from Diamond to Simon & Schuster for book distribution, deciding between publishing in single issues or graphic novels, before he talks about some of Oni’s biggest books over the years and the 2017-18 NBA season.

Thanks for listening to this week’s podcast with Oni Press’ publisher, James Lucas Jones. You can find him on Twitter.

You can download the show directly here on Libsyn.

Off Panel now has a Patreon! Support the show and earn some rewards by backing the podcast on there.

Big thanks to my patrons, including – but not limited to – Jacob Sareli, Ford Gilmore, David Baroldy, Evan Blasor, Andrew Scott, Brian McCray, Ira James Udaskin, Benjamin Birdie, Henning Ahlers, Modern Magic Stories, Nick Hall, Bruno Batista, Abraham Riesman, Adrian Diaz, Bobby Angus, Bjorn Basen, Darren Neely, John Hendrick, Steve Anderson, Michael Perlman, Phil Knall, Ian Maxfield, Cliff Chiang, Benjamin Schipper, Colin McMahon, Chris Palmer, Maxwell Schmidt, Scott McGovern, Nathan Fairbairn, Cat McKenzie, Lou Iovino, Christopher Carter, Nicholas Keslake, Brian Dickerson, Greg Rucka, Ryan Mayle, Adam Highfill, Nicholas Gardner, Andrew Corrigan, Fiona Staples, Chris Morris, Chris O’Hollaran, Mark Abnett, Mike Murphy, Michael Shirley, Tom Barnett, Jim Demonakos, Norbert, Nick Lowe, James Kaplan, and Mission: Comics and Art in San Francisco. You’re all the best.

Subscribe to the show on iTunes or follow the show on its LibSyn page. The show is also on Stitcher, Google Play Music and IHeartRadio’s app.

Have a question for Off Panel? You can reach David by email and Twitter.

Header images are from Made Men #5 (art by Arjuna Susini and Gonzalo Duarte), Invader Zim #27 (art by Maddie C and Fred C. Stresing) and Sci-Fu #1 (art by Yehudi Mercado). Intro and outro music is Vulfpeck’s Outro from their album Vollmilch. Thanks to the band for letting me use the track.